Friday, 16 October 2020

Tuesday, 13 October 2020

There is no substitue for hard work. (Thomas A. Edison)

 Topic 2: Education & work

 Reading

 Education

 Listening

 Education

 Vocabulary

 Work & jobs

 Speaking

 Monologue: Work


Monday, 12 October 2020

I am still learning. (Michelangelo)

Topic 2: Back to school

 Reading

Education

 Listening

An assignment

 Grammar

Adverbs of manner 

 Vocabulary

Classroom language


Friday, 2 October 2020

The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance. (Alan Watts)

Here is the worksheet for Who moved my cheese? I hope you enjoy the book.

Friday, 25 September 2020

Know yourself to improve yourself. (Auguste Comte)

Topic 1: Knowing me knowing you

 Reading

 Know yourself quiz

 Grammar

 Potpourri

 Vocabulary

 Word formation

 Speaking

 Character & personality


Thursday, 3 September 2020

Sunday, 30 August 2020

Monday, 17 August 2020

The innocence of childhood is like the innocence of a lot of animals. (Clint Eastwood)


Worksheet 1 for the first half of Luke and Jon
Worksheet 2 for the second half of Luke and Jon.

Saturday, 1 August 2020

A warm, dead-to-rights understanding of the human heart, expressed in prose as clear as a glass of water. (Francis Spufford)


I propose Luke and Jon by Robert Williams for our fourth bookWhen Luke's mother dies unexpectedly in a car accident, he also loses his father who is trying to drown his sorrows in a bottle. They move to a remote town and an even more remote house where they meet Jon, whose own mother died when he was six.

Thursday, 30 July 2020

Wednesday, 15 July 2020

Monday, 15 June 2020

Sunday, 17 May 2020

You just need to start. Do it today. (Debora Robertson)


Here are some questions for you.
Worksheets for Chapter 1 & Chapter 2.
Worksheets for Chapter 3 Chapter 4.
Worksheets for Chapter 5 Chapter 6.
Worksheets for Chapter 7 & Chapter 8.



Thursday, 30 April 2020

Monday, 30 March 2020

Wednesday, 5 February 2020

Self-reflection is the first step to decluttering because it's not about the stuff. (Unknown)

The third book we will discuss is this one which is beautifully written. The content is inspiring, and the style immaculate. It's not just what she says, but how she says it. The author infuses her advice with humour and just enough down-to-earth reality to keep you hooked. This book will change your life!     

Sunday, 5 January 2020

Miss a meal if you have to, but don't miss a book. (Jim Rohn)


Here is the book so you can do the exercises and activities at the back. Check out the answers here. You will be asked to summarise the stories in your own words so have a look at this and learn how. You have two weeks. Start practising! 

Sunday, 15 December 2019

Friday, 6 December 2019

We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. (B.F. Skinner)

Stranger than Fiction:Urban Myths (Penguin) 
Sunday 19th January
How to be an Alien (Penguin)
Sunday 16th February
Capital (Faber and Faber)
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 19th April
Sunday 24th May


Tuesday, 5 November 2019